Nine years ago this July.

How much things have changed!

As I’ve mentioned in My Writing Journey, this whole writing thing was started for me nine years ago with a story contest. It was small. It was for fun. I didn’t win the little prize.

But it was cool.

(P.S. And my story? The Adventures of Ellie and Jane? The 11-sentence-long story? It was awesome. To my nine-year-old self.)

But in the long run, I’d say I won anyway. Because I got writing. I got the fire, the passion that burns in us to write more, more, more! I got something money couldn’t buy, something I never knew I wanted but always had. I got the love of writing.

So much so, in fact, that it triggered the following email to the family who hosted that writing contest.

You have me hooked!! šŸ™‚Ā  Ever since we did the writing contest I’ve been a busy bee, writing and writing and writing, all of these four stories.Ā  Here are their names: Problems Ahoy, Mystery of the Scavenger Hunt, Another One, and The Magic Door.Ā  The green highlighted two are “stories in progress.” šŸ™‚

Ā 

My E- mail is not long, because I almost never write long E- mails because excitement + impatience = not long E-mails.

 

By the way, the “green highlights” don’t show up, but “Problems Ahoy” and “The Magic Door” were the ones that were marked. Also, The Formatting doesn’t show up either. Do you remember those days? When E-V-E-R-Y-T-H-I-N-G had to have a special font and a special font color. And you’d spend at least twice as long finding the perfect special Formatting for your story. Or email. Or quick note. Or anything. At least, I did. Ah, those days of yore. šŸ™‚

Yes, it’s Throwback Thursday, folks. And today I’m celebrating the event that changed my life (oh yeah, the event šŸ˜‰ ).

But I’m also looking forward to the future.

ANNOUNCEMENT: This July, looking in the rearview mirror at my roots, I’ll be hosting a small writing contest here on More Than I’ve Been. For kids and adults. And there might be a little prize.

This won’t be anything big, and you won’t have to turn in a 100,000 word thriller, so don’t worry. I’ll be posting the dates and guidelines soon, so buckle your seatbelts and get ready!

This is just a quick announcement to let you know what’s coming down the pipes from Kat-land. Now let’s get the word out! šŸ˜€

Please feel free to share this around! Link to my blog or tweet it or Facebook it or whatever you do. šŸ˜‰ (Question: Can Facebook be a verb??) Anyway, please share this around, and please remember to point people back to morethanivebeen.wordpress.com.

Thanks a billion bunches!

~ Kat

