Once upon a year ago, a girl named Kat was trapped inside an Anti-Magic Forcefield. But one day, she met a strange man named Powers. He was neither old nor young, strong nor weak, adventurer nor hermit, visible nor invisible. In fact, he was simply there, but not. She had heard of him before but never spoken with him, because of the Forcefield.

And then it happened. She found herself conversing with Powers, and he told her that, although he didn’t seem so to look at, he truly had magical powers that made him capable of many things, from overthrowing kings to sweeping his house without a broom. Kat was intrigued. But, of course, she would take no steps while the Forcefield locked her in.

Since Powers didn’t like it when people refused to believe his magical powers or recognize what he could do, he decided to get drastic. And so, using one of his very helpful powers, he popped Kat’s precious little Forcefield like a bubble. She saw all the potential she had been missing, and leapt gladly at her newfound freedom. And they all lived magically ever after. The end.

I told you I had an aversion to magic, didn’t I? Well, that applied to powers, too. Nothing was allowed (except “abilities”). But then I got to wondering… What if I had a character who vehemently disbelieved magic, like I was? And of course, it wouldn’t be a good story if she wasn’t proved wrong somehow…

Enter Jackie, my very first ever Powers-Girl. She argued that magic was illogical and irrational and completely impossible. But then she this secret tribe help her escape from being held prisoner by this evil steward (that’s another topic – me and my stewards and kings are like me and bandits). And this one dude threw fire out of his hands, and a girl melted the hinges of the gate with a single touch… In the end, it turned out that she herself had powers, though she had not yet discovered it. At the end of the story, I showed a glimpse of her in the future in full goddess-like power (she could read minds and throw lightning and control the weather and natural things like volcanos and the sea and earthquakes and temporarily paralyze a person) – definitely not someone you’d want to mess with – and I saw. Everything. I. Could. Do.

I know this isn’t ground-breaking, but it marked a dramatic shift in my writing from “Mythological (elf type)” stories to “Powers” stories. You know they say can’t-stop-won’t-stop, and really, I just can’t seem to help myself. I always go back to powers. I’m sure that, give time long enough, I’ll be onto some new can’t-stop-won’t-stop Thang, but for now… Powers = my writing life.

See ya soon!

~ Kat

