Let the games begin!

Okay, not quite yet – I have a few things I need to say first. Then we can get to the fun stuff.

First, I want to thank the family who held that first writing contest when I was 9 and started all this. I can truly say you changed my life! Second, thanks to my awesome childhood friends over at Cracks In The Fence! They helped me out with a little dress-up and a little acting (tough job, isn’t it, being my friend? :P), and made this thing possible. And thanks to you guys, for participating in this and letting me read your work and enjoy the fruits of other people’s labor. I soooo excited, folks! Now with that said, let’s get down to some guidelines, shall we?

-> At the end of this post, you will find a picture. The goal of this contest is to write a story about that picture (or that relates to/features the scene of this picture). Get creative, but please make it clear. πŸ˜‰

-> Story length should be between 500-1,500 words. But I’m going to break story-contest-running tradition and (drum rolls, please :D) say there is no hard line. Just please remember that it’s supposed to be short.

-> Stories are due by July 31st (2015 πŸ˜‰ ) by email to morethanivebeen@outlook.com. You can send it as an attachment or pasted into the body of your email. Please provide

  • A title for your story
  • Your story
  • Your name
  • Your age group (under 10, 11-14, 15-19, 20+)
  • The email address at which you would like to receive a response. Please note that NONE of your information will be used or released in any way, and you will receive no mail outside of this story contest from More Than I’ve Been.

Please do not feel compelled to provide any further information.

-> If giving your stories a virtual rating, it should be G-PG. Please avoid anything that might be offensive, as this contest is not only open to children but I’d like the content to be child-appropriate, ya know?

-> WINNERS! Depending on how many entries I get, I plan to have a 1st place, 2nd place, and Honorable Mention. Since I’m starting small, the 1st place will receive a “prize” and have the story posted on More Than I’ve Been, the 2nd place will probably just get posted, and the Honorable Mention will be Honorably Mentioned with full pomp. πŸ˜‰ We’ll see. I’m sooo pumped, peeps!

-> Lastly, before I shut up and actually get to the picture, please consider

  • Linking to this post on your own blog
  • Facebooking this
  • Tweeting it
  • Texting a friend
  • Or other applicable media
  • Or hollering it aloud in your neighborhood while out for a stroll and calling it good enough

Or whatever is applicable. πŸ™‚ Please don’t feel compelled, but I’d like your help spreading the word. πŸ˜› Thanks!

And. Now.

For the unveiling of the picture.

medieval-shoot

What will you write?

I can’t wait to find out!!

~ Kat

