Hello, folks!

Life’s been a leetle crazy, settling into my new routine. Also, I’m on-call for a babysitting job that might be anytime, so I always have to make provisions in case I get the call. 😉 So, interesting.

I’m the sort of person who will painstakingly write a story in 30 days of a 31 day contest and on the 31st day throw it all out. And start over. So if you’re like me, this is probably about the time you’re screaming “alright, that’s it! I’m starting over!” at your computer. If you’re not like me, you’re contentedly putting the final touches on your story and humming to yourself as you prepare to ship it off early (is there anyone like that??? ohmygosh I can’t believe you if you do! You’re… a hero!). Or maybe you have a different method. Whatever you do, don’t give up. A quote I once read is “giving up is for rookies”, and maybe that’s going too far; not everyone has time and sometimes life forces your hand. But it’s whether your heart is quitting that matters. 😉 ❤

Anyway, I just wanted to offer you some encouragement in these last 36 hours (ish) of the Mirrors story contest. Also, a few reminders.

  • Stories are due by the 1st of August, which leaves you roughly 36 hours to submit your entry
  • Entries are by email to morethanivebeen@outlook.com
  • Please provide your story (with a title), your name, your age group, and the email address at which you’d like to receive your response
  • Please note that your personal information will not be shared or released in any way by me or anyone connected with More Than I’ve Been

Now, blah blah blah fine print reminders out of the way…

  • Write from your heart.
  • The person you ultimately want to please is you. Write something you’re satisfied with and even if no one else appreciates it, that’s alright because you are happy (which is why you write anyway! 🙂 ).
  • “All our dreams can come true, if only we have the courage to pursue them.” – Walt Disney What are your dreams? Pursue them! 😉
  • If I could only pass on one thing I’ve learned, it would be this: Write raw, write real, write from your gut, make it deep – heart deep. Dredge it up from inside of you. Charge it with everything you have loved and felt. Don’t hold back; your passion will burn through it and you story (literally and figuratively) might be the one thing that someone out there needs. Make it alive, make it rich, and make it real. ❤ Kat

And for a little from the pros… and others.

  • “There are some of us now reaching middle age who discover themselves to be lamenting the past in one respect if none other, that there are no books written now for children comparable with those of thirty years ago. I say written for children because the new psychological business of writing about them as though they were small pills or hatched in some especially scientific method is extremely popular today. Writing for children rather than about them is very difficult, as everybody who has tried it knows. It can only be done, I am convinced, by somebody having a great deal of the child in his own outlook and sensibilities… Grown-ups imagine that they can do the trick by adopting baby language and talking down to their very critical audience. There never was a greater mistake. The imagination of the author must be a child’s imagination and yet maturely consistent…” – The Story Of Doctor Dolittle, Introduction, by Hugh Lofting
  • “A good vocabulary is not acquired by reading books written according to some notion of the vocabulary of one’s age-group.  It comes from reading books above one.” – J. R. R. Tolkien
  • “With me the process is much more like bird-watching than like either talking or building. I see pictures. Some of the pictures have a common flavour, almost a common smell, which groups them together. Keep quiet and watch and they will begin to join themselves up. If you were very lucky (I have never been so lucky as all that) a whole group might join themselves so consistently that there you had a complete story; without doing anything yourself. But more often (in my experience always) there are gaps. Then at last you have to do some deliberate inventing.” C. S. Lewis (In my opinion, the “deliberate inventing” is part of the best part of writing; though I always start with the scraps my imagination gives me)
  • “Get out of that comfort zone and try something different.  Don’t be afraid to fail. Don’t be afraid to struggle. Don’t be afraid to learn. There is no such thing as ‘perfect’ – it’s about practice.” – Jillian Michaels

And a personal favorite. So funny, but. So. True.

“I’m a writer,” I whisper as I look up war statistics

“I’m a writer,” I whisper as I look up when the blender was invented

“I’m I writer,” I whisper as I figure out how many times you can get shot without dying

“I’M A WRITER!” I shout when someone uses my laptop and I left the page open to stab-wound references.” – Unknown

Remember: Winner is meeting your own goals, not giving up because you’re afraid of failure or don’t want to seem “not good enough”, reaching the finish lines you set. Being able to throw your arms into the air and say “I did it!”, to have that comfortable feeling deep down inside because you didn’t hold back anything, you gave it your best shot, and there was nothing more you could give. And you made it (or even if you didn’t, you have the satisfaction of knowing you had done all in your power, and there is nothing to be ashamed of in that!). And I mean this outside of writing and contests too. When you give life everything you’ve got, you’ll always be a winner.

~ Kat

