I just wanted to take you on a little tour of my day yesterday, with the things I love and things that completed my day.

WP_20150425_001

My yesterday started off with an adrenaline-charged jolt. I forgot that I had an early morning babysitting gig (I had to leave at 7:15), and hadn’t set an alarm, so my Mom came to get me up. Now, since my sleep issues in the last year, it doesn’t exactly take a thunderstorm to wake me up. Unfortunately, my Mom didn’t realize that things had changed (it used to be near impossible to get me up without cold water and a crow bar before the time appointed ๐Ÿ˜‰ ), and called my name while shaking me (it felt) like a maraca. After I descended from smashing into the ceiling, I just laid there shaking, fully awake and terrified. Once I understood the situation I got up, realizing I had about 15 minutes to get ready. I left for the babysitting, tired but reassuring myself that at least it was only 2 hours long, from 8:00-10:00, and then I could come home and have time to get ready to go to the Humane Society

10:00 comes and goes. By 10:40 I’m getting nervous that I won’t have time to get ready for the Humane Society before I leave. Then the mom of the kids calls to say that when she had given us an end time (10:00) she had gotten mixed up and meant 11:00. A call home later arranged things: my siblings made my lunch (you guys rock!) and gathered my stuff. I was dropped off at home with literally like 10 minutes to get ready and run out the door again to shift. Could this day get any crazier??

Yes, it could.

Arriving at the Humane Society, the lead of my shift told me that we were going to try to take out all the dogs twice. It was raining and thunderstorming, and very cold for August (helllloooo weather! It’s AUGUST!! It’s supposed to be warm and sunny!), and the poor little Chihuahuas were so cold and shaking! I worked with like 7 dogs, 2 of which were Chihuahuas, whichย I did them in their warmer kennels and not in the exposed runs. One was so cold, she just wanted to cuddle with me for like 10 minutes until she warmed up! I also worked with a Berner mix (I โค Berners!), and I found out she got adopted today.

On the way home I listened to the Thor soundtrack to wind down. I was wiped by the time I got home (about 5:30), and realized I spent only about half an hour here… You can tell my wits are kind of scattered today. ๐Ÿ˜› So it made for a nice break when we watched a movie over dinner. ๐Ÿ™‚

It was a full day. A crazy day. A day I wouldn’t trade for the world. Because of these simple truths.

  • Nothing can compare with the feeling you have whenย a child reaches out their hands for you. Not their older sister. Not the other babysitter. You.
  • When a little one just learning to talk proudly says your name, it makes all the stress and exhaustion worth it, because of those priceless moments.
  • After putting in half an hour of work with a shy and fearful dog that won’t come anywhere near you or approach you in any way, when that shy and fearful dog finally works up to standing beside you, and when you touch her side with the back of your hand and she doesn’t flinch… that feeling of joy and accomplishment over the progress the two of you have made can’t be bought with anything but hard work and dedication, and is worth every minute.
  • There are some really nice people in the world, if you let yourself see them, and it is so much fun to work alongside them in a common passion.
  • Most of the time, people are just waiting for you to come out of your shell and open up more. They aren’t going to spook like you might think. They are fine with sharing a good laugh and teasing and being teased, willing to go out of their way to help you and receive your offers of help, ready to work as a team, (some, especially little girls ๐Ÿ˜‰ ) eager to play clapping games with you and learn all the ones you know, and do “I Spy” (“something gray”, or sometimes a rare color) in a moving car. There are incredible experiences ready to be yours, if you just creep a little out of your shell to experience them.
  • I like Batman Begins. Taking dinner over to the couch after a long and hard day and settling in for some good time action and tension and good premise and theme… oh yeah. (one of the) Best Scene(s): Bruce Wayne’s epiphany with bats in the Bat Cave. (one of the) Best Quote(s): “It’s not who I am underneath, but what I do, that defines me.” I’m developing an alarming taste for movies that are not loved by all the family, like Thor, Batman, and Race to Witch Mountain… ๐Ÿ˜€
  • I actually like the rain (when it rains in earnest), and getting really wet and then coming inside and getting warm and dry. Especially when I get to wear my sister’s hoodie because mine is soaked. ๐Ÿ˜›

That’s it for today, folks. I’ll be back later, hopefully with a story in response to this challenge: Make me sympathize with a man who killed his own brother. I want to work more on the seed I’ve started on it, and I hope to share it with you. I know it sounds dark, but this is me… I don’t do dark, not all-the-way dark. And I have a good ending planned. ๐Ÿ˜‰

WP_20150508_003

See you then, if not before!

~ Kat

