If you’ve been here awhile, you’re probably well aware that I do NaNoWriMo. Actually, NaNoWriMo is the only time as of yet that I have taken a novel all the way from start to finish. Why? Because of this simple answer:

Write from the hip.

What do I mean by that exactly? I mean don’t think about each word. Don’t muse over whether you should take your characters by this route or that. Don’t agonize over sharpening your dialogue and raising tension. Pull your pen from your holster and write. Bam! Don’t stop, don’t slow down, and don’t look back.

It’s the whole reason NaNoWriMo works for me, it’s the very founding principal. Don’t let perfection kill your steam. If you spend too much time “getting it right” (and trust me, you seldom if ever get it “just right”) you’ll be dragged down, lose your momentum and passion, and the heat and rush of creating fades.

the pen is mightier than the sword
If the pen is mightier than the sword, we are Word Warriors! πŸ™‚

I realized I had lost sight of this necessity of writing. When I was writing my last post of Ancient Fire, I wondered when it had gotten to be such a grueling Production. Why was I laboring over it so much? Why was I worrying about capturing it all “just right”? How was it that I used to write so freely?? And throwing perfection to the wind, I let it rip.

And it was awesome.

I enjoyed it so thoroughly, I realized that at some point it had lost its joy, which was why it had been hard to get motivated. But with the pleasure and joy back, I know I can’t let it slip again.

So, here’s to all you fellow writers! Don’t let perfectionism, backtracking, or reworking bog you down…

Dory Genius - 10

Just keep swimming writing. 🎡Let it go, let it flow, and I’ll write like the break of dawn. Let it go, let it flow, the perfect words are gone!🎡 Ahem. Back to the point. Pull you pen. Shoot write from the hip. Let it flow, let it rip, and don’t hold back. Pour your soul out on paper, and don’t worry or obsess over elusive perfection. πŸ™‚

See ya later, folks!

~ Kat

