(My second pep talk posted in the forums… “Kill The Gremlins“)

Hey, Wrimos!

I just want to share my top tricks for handling the gremlins that sabotage my writing time.

#1: Write a Dear Gremlin Letter

That little gremlin whispering in your ear “not enough action, loser!” and “who do you think you are? You suck, man!”? Punch him. Hard. Tell him to go sit on a pea tack. Gremlins are the only things you can be rude to. 😛 Then write a Dear Gremlin letter. In your head is fine, but I find it especially effective if I write it out in a word document or sticky note on my screen. It doesn’t have to be long, only a few sentences.

“Dear Gremlin,

I don’t care what you think [ouch]. If I want your advice I’ll ask for it, so shut up! Get lost and let me work. Seriously, I’m not going to listen to your unasked for input. So keep your backseat driving to yourself or you’re fired! So there!

– me”

You’ll feel worlds better after firing the gremlin, and so there-ing him keeps him out long enough to really give your story the attention it deserves.

#2: Acquire X-ray Vision: Seeing the gremlin within

Instagram feed? Blam. Gremlin destroyed. Beverage-sipping to avoid the keys? Kapow! (warming up…) Endless font-changing? (can I have a machine gun?) Bam-bam-bam-bam-bam! Got ‘em all. Raise your hands in the air. Let out a war whoop. Maybe two or three. You are THE GREMLIN MASTER!!! They will bow before your conquering hand! Muhahaha!! Ahem. Anyway…

#3: Employ Your Hero’s Help

Open a new document. Clean slate, clean mind. Inhale, exhale. Imagine a conversation between your hero and a little evil gremlin that’s trying to sabotage their mission. See how your hero reacts and what she says, and what the gremlin says. An epic battle that takes place solely in words and in the mind, if you will. And hey, you might even end up with material you’ll want to incorporate.

#4: Dare Yourself

When the gremlin comes a callin’, instead of letting its criticizing voice beat you down or its distractions call you away, dare yourself to reach new heights. Spite that annoying little gremlin. Ha! I’m going to write 300 words before 9:30, so there! Then reach for it. Pour the words out. Writing faster keeps the interfering voices quiet. At least for me. Once I’m warmed up.

#5: Let The Gremlin Win, because sometimes you just have to

WHAT?! Yes, I just said that, after I’ve shared my favorite ways to outsmart the gremlins. But I don’t mean surrender entirely, and not at all to the parts about quitting. DO NOT EVER GIVE UP!! But when the gremlins say, “you don’t know what you’re talking about” then you say, “okay, let me do 15 minutes of research. Then I will”. “Amy just posted…” = “just ten minutes to clear my brain and lube its gears”. You get the point. Let it win… for a time. And then you’ll be back, set and ready to beat it even better than before.

That’s it for now, folks! Hope your novel is coming along awesomely and that you teach your gremlins a lesson, in whatever way works for you!

~ Kat

