Hello again, everyone!

So, this is my promised update post, which I was supposed to make 3 days ago. But oh well. I’ve been kinda busy, ya know? Thanks for understanding! ๐Ÿ™‚

I’ve written about 41,600 words total so far. Which is ahead of schedule. And I took yesterday off (minus the 900 words I’d already written ahead for it). Sometimes you just need a break.

Freak out! I finished The Dragon Pendant (Is that bad???). Really and truly. I’m not joking. Apparently, if you cut out excess description and rambling ahead of time, your novel actually ends up shorter. Who’d have thought? I clocked out at about 38,500 words on it. Since then, I’ve finished a story I’ve had like within a chapter of being done for about 6 months called Sea Wolves, and am writing ahead for Ancient Fire.

Fact: Each happy ending’s a brand new beginning. How do you like to see a story end? I always like to make it feel like even though you’ve reached the back cover of the novel, for my lead it’s just a transition, a next step, a new chapter. I like to make it feel like the story extends in both directions beyond the covers, and the novel is just a tasteful window into it <- this is how I’d like it to be. In reality it’s a leetle more clumsy. But “each happy ending’s a brand new beginning” could be my writing motto, or at least one of them, even though it’s a quote from the song Ever Ever After by Carrie Underwood.

Current story frustration: My arm injury is trying to control my life. You know, I honestly didn’t believe my PTs when they told me I would one day be able to write as much as I wanted again, and really flat-out disbelieved them when they assured me I’d be able to do NaNoWriMo this year. Back then, it seemed preposterous, like the proposal of going to the moon to someone in 200 B.C. After my word-sprinting + blogging, I felt twinges in my old injury. And only then remembered that my therapist had advised that when I did NaNoWriMo, I do the arm stretches she gave me as a preventative measure. So I immediately reinstituted the stretches and got things under control, but made strict rules for myself: no more words sprints this year, no more than 2,000-3,000 words a day if I can possibly help it, and take breaks and stretch whenever possible. No sense in inducing a flare-up recklessly. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Caffeine front: Hooray! I’m kind of patting myself on the back, even though this was completely subconscious and it isn’t even a big thing to worry about – I mean, it’s just soda. I’ve consumed less than a dozen Coke Zeros (and no coffee, obviously, because I hate coffee) since Day 1. But unfortunately, my restraint doesn’t spring from the fact that I’m getting plenty of sleep…

Sleep? What’s that? Oh yes… I remember! That was the thing I used to do when I’d go lay in bed and… pass out? Except maybe that’s now… I’ve stayed up past 11:00 like 4 times in the last week, but only as late as midnight once (is that bad, too??). I’m trying to be better about getting to bed (writing isn’t always completely to blame), and now that the stress and the month are ramping down, maybe I’ll have better success. ๐Ÿ™‚ Hopefully.

WOOT! I’m back on track! I’m into my old blasting charge acquired at the hands of NaNoWriMo. Once this month is over, my game plan is to assign certain months to my so far unfinished stories that I want (slash need, according to some siblings o’ mine ๐Ÿ˜› ) to finish: Follow Every Rainbow (a story about nymphs and a family favorite), The Rebel (you already know a lot about them ๐Ÿ˜€ ), The Genie and the Ghost ( a short story I started to monitor my writing progress while recovering from my injury… I recovered faster than I expected and didn’t need it’s monitoring but still want to finish it), and Sea Wolves, whichย I just finished so now it’s off the list. Ancient Fire is on the list, but not quite with the strictness of the “adopt a month” approach. After November, I’m just going to carry on with it, only hopefully, with my writing train still chugging full speed ahead, I’ll get more done and get less hung up on the details.

I changed the lyrics for I’ll Make A Man Out Of You… To be about writing, what else? Particularly about NaNoWriMo, though. As I told some folks online: “NaNoWriMo has gone to my brain”. I’m pretty sure that’s why a phenomenon like this occurs. Read it here, if you want to feel thoroughly weirded out and concerned for my mental health. ๐Ÿ˜€

And… things have finally come together. I’m getting the rhythm, I don’t feel I’m going to fly apart anymore, and the old habits are coming back, with a few improvements. Each NaNoWriMo, my writing is better (not saying much when you look back to Secrets of the Lost Kingdom ๐Ÿ˜€ ). My voice becomes more distinct, my characters (generally speaking) more alive, my words less filler and more telling…

And one last thing. I’ve been following Veroniqueย for exactly a year now, and last year, in a post she made about NaNoWriMo, she said this very true writing fact:

“My recent search history also includes such fascinating tidbits as the Mary Celeste, black spiced rum recipes, pub crawl (I forgot to add the โ€˜wordcountโ€˜ part to it), and how to make bumbo. Things always get interesting in November, and Google possibly now thinks that Iโ€™m an alcoholic who lives in a shack on the beach and sees sea monsters and pirates on a regular basis.” [emphasis mine]

– Veronique Kruger, Day 18 and Thoughts

My search engine is convinced I’m learning Chinese, have already packed up and moved to China, have developed an odd interest in dragons (and their appearances in the Chinese calendar/zodiacally), and that I can’t do simple math (2015 – 15 = 2000), to name a few things. ^^Definitely relating! ๐Ÿ™‚

Happy writings!

~ Kat

