Hello there, friends! I’m back from the dead!

I’m sure you noticed I’ve been basically absent for the last month. What’s been keeping me?

Writing… mostly.

Remember my to-do list of writing goals I wanted to finish this year? January was the lucky month to have Ancient Fire assigned to it, so it was my number one mission that month to finish it. As I told you in my post the other day, I did it!! Whee!!

This month I’m revising (first passes lol ๐Ÿ˜‰ ) Mastermind, and March is dedicated to The Dragon Pendant. This is the first year I’ll be participating in Camp NaNo as well, but I will be doing both the May and July Camps for my other two major partial stories Follow Every Rainbow and The Rebel. More revision will be happening in the later months (I have things sketched out but not set in stone… at some point I need to revise Miranda’s Giants, but I don’t know if I’ll get to it this year. I know what I’m writing for NaNoWriMo, and I’m going to make sure that gets revised next year so I don’t fall behind and have to do this over again. :S ๐Ÿ˜€

Honestly, this year I’m playing catch up from all the years I put off both revising and finishing stories. This year is crazy. I’ve made pretty good progress on my list of stories to finish, but writing/finishing first drafts is what I do all the time. I’ve never revised a whole novel. Ever. Once I did a half-hearted attempt at revision on a short story. But I’ve never done the real thing. I’m sooo intimidated and kinda scared… Any advice or tips from you pros out there would be most welcome (and by pros, I mean anyone whose done this before. Seriously, I need help)!

Ideally, I’d really love to get my manuscript(s) edited by a freelance editor (Like from this beyond-awesome-sauce website!). At least then it would help me learn what to tackle and give me some ideas. A learning experience kind of thing. But first I’m getting it into a little better shape so that it’s at least readable before I even seriously consider doing that. :S

Anyway, we’ll see how it goes. This is Writer’s Boot Camp for me. (Sorry about all that rambling ^up there^)

Besides all that writing mumbo-jumbo, I’ve been #yearofself-ing.

#yearofself

Here’s how I’ve done so far:

  • I’ve gone out to eat with some of my favorite people. Twice. Once with my brother, and again with all the sibs. ๐Ÿ™‚
  • I bought a sandwich for lunch a different time just because I felt like it. And nothing tastes quite like Subway.
  • I bought (and applied one!) some temporary tattoos from Tattly. Loving the “lightning fast” one. But now it’s fading. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

tattly_lightning_fast

  • Living up my new alter-ego as GoGo from Big Hero 6 with this fun new lock screen I made:

GoGo-live-life-fast meme

Why walk when you can run? Why bike when you can have super cool custom made electro-mag unicycles-meet-roller-skates? Why dawdle over boring useless activities when you can be out adventuring/being chased by super-villains/saving the world? You get it. I’m an adventurer at heart (like that’s a surprise!).

  • I got my hair cut in the style I’ve loved and been wanting for 7 years. My mom calls it a shag cut. I think that sounds like a dirty old rug. My mom says it looks like my hair got caught in a blender. I think this sounds like a painful bloody mess. Your thoughts?
  • I was born in the wrong decade. I’m time-warped from the 70s. I’m eager for my latest style exploration to arrive in the mail: palazzo pants. <- hard to find good ones, because in this crazy decade with the advent of athleisure wear, designers have decided to make palazzo/yoga pants combos. How crazy is that? As I said, I rightfully belong to the 70s.
  • The simple mental shift has been incredible. In the first few days I could tell a difference. I felt so much freer. Having this mindset has reenergized me in and of itself in a sense. I feel better than I did mentally and emotionally when “anything is an option”, if you know what I mean.

So here we go, launching strong into February. I hope to continue balancing Boot Camp and Year of Self, and hopefully squeeze in dragging you along for the ride. ๐Ÿ™‚ Thanks for being forcibly hauled with meย joining me on this journey!

~ Kat

Note: Sacrilege. I’veย found I coffee I like. Just one. Starbucks’ Salted Caramel Mocha. But I can’t handle more than 8-10 ounces of it. But still… yikes. I CANNOT become one of those coffee monsters. And I won’t. I’ll still take my Coke Zero, thank you very much. ๐Ÿ˜‰

