Yes, this really happens in my head. Yes, I hate research. And no, I’ve seldom actually got around to more than “preliminary research”…

  1. “I just got a story idea!! It’s the best in the world!”
  2. “I can’t wait to start writing!”
  3. “Ugh, research…”
  4. “Maybe there’s something better that involves less research…”
  5. “But no, preliminary research now, put off the bulk of it until AFTER first draft!”
  6. “Outline = writer’s best and worst invention.”
  7. “WRITING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!”
  8. “This is awesome. I can’t believe how amazing this is turning out!”
  9. “This is horrible. I can’t believe what a total wreck this is.”
  10. “What made me think I could write a novel about this???”
  11. “Wow. That scene went really well. Brilliant exchange, Character A and Character B.”
  12. “WRITING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!”
  13. “Lousy performance, villain. I’m sooooo believing you… not.”
  14. “I’m a bad writer.”
  15. “Why did I EVER think I could do this?!”
  16. “I guess this isn’t so bad…”
  17. *crossing fingers* (which is very difficult while writing)
  18. “Wow! First draft! That wasn’t quite so bad, after all. I can’t wait to start another one!!”
  19. “I just got a story idea!! It’s the best in the world!”
  20. “WRITING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!”

 

And so it goes. These are the cycles I go through in my head while writing/preparing to write a story. 🙂

I’ve had Creative Fever for the last month, I syndrome I invented. It is a condition characterized (ha ha) by a hunger to create, a hunger so powerful that you almost can’t think straight when trying to write anything else (like, say, a story you’ve already written in your head once and are trying to replicate on paper. Just for instance). It even can seem almost like your fingers are itching, itching to write something, anything, as long as it’s new material.

After finishing The Rebel, the above mentioned story that I was writing for Camp NaNo, I’ve been suffering a horrible case of Creative Fever. So, to remedy it (and not wanting to start on my novel planned for November, which is what I’m really dying to do), I began the prequel to Miranda’s Giants. Working title is, exceedingly uncreatively, Shade’s Goblins. And it’s in first person, from Shade’s perspective, a thing I haven’t dared before or since What Brothers Are For. So far, so good, but I’m not holding my breath.

I am currently cycling through stages 8-10.

I’ll have a story challenge coming at you soon. I’ve been working on a sample story/the story that inspired it, and I finally finished. In the meantime, happy writing!

~ Kat

So tell me: What stages plague you the most? Do you have any I didn’t include?

